PSNES Board and Elections

Organization and Board

The PSNES board of directors is made up elected officer positions, six to nine at large members, the chair of the nuclear engineering program, a nuclear engineering faculty member, and the director of the Radiation Science and Engineering Center. To become a board member, contact the PSNES president for more information. The Board meets by teleconference quarterly and holds at least one on-site meeting per year at Penn State.

Current Board of Directors – Alumni Members
Position Name/Email Committee(s)
President Douglas Wood
Board Operations, Nominating Committee, Constitution Committee, PSNES – PSEAS Liaison, Mentor
Vice President/President-Elect Vacant  

Hilary Ruby (Neal)

Board Operations, PSNES Linked-In Group Administrator, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor

Past President Rick Etling Constitution Committee
At-large Directors John Atchison
Awards Committee, Mentor
Eric Beaumont
Matt Ellis
Board meeting participation
Duane Karchner
NucE Student Orientation, Mentor
Michael Pantano
Board Meeting participation
Matt Wargon Board Meeting participation, Awards Committee
Jim Tusar
Award Committee, Breazeale Reactor Safeguards Committee, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor, PSNES-PSU WIN Liaison
Jeremy Barnhart
Board Meeting Participation
Hamilton Gubanc
Board Meeting Participation
PSNES APG representative to PSEAS Board -Pat Loftus and Doug Wood

2018 Elections

In accordance with the PSNES Constitution, below is the slate of candidates recommended by the Board of Directors. During the period April 19, 2018 – May 19, 2018, PSNES members may self-nominate for any of the following positions by contacting the PSNES Secretary (

2018 PSNES Board Elections – Call for Board Self-Nominations
Board Position Candidate Elected Term
President Hilary Neal 2018-2020
Vice President Jason Beebe 2018-2020
Secretary/Treasurer Tyler Cousins 2018-2020
At-large Director John Atchison 2018-2022
Jennifer Butler 2018-2022
Duane Karchner 2018-2022
Mara Levy 2018-2022
Michael Pantano 2018-2022

The following current At-Large Directors remain on the Board through 2020: Jeremy Barnhart, Matthew Ellis, James Tusar, Matt Wargon



The Ken and Mary Alice Lindquist Department of Nuclear Engineering at Penn State is one of the top ranked nuclear engineering programs in the United States. The department distinguishes itself from other programs with a strong focus on experimental research in power, science, security and safety. The actively growing department leads four educational programs for students pursuing a bachelor of science, a master of science, a master of engineering or a doctoral degree. The department also houses the Breazeale Nuclear Reactor, the country’s first and longest operating licensed nuclear reactor. The construction and operation of the reactor introduced nuclear engineering to Penn State, and, in doing so, harnessed research and educational opportunities as key strengths for the department. See how we’re inspiring change and impacting tomorrow at

Department of Nuclear Engineering

137 Reber Building

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802-4400

Phone: 814-865-2519