PSNES Board and Elections

Organization and Board

The voting members of the PSNES board of directors are made up of three elected officer positions, six to nine elected at-large members, the nuclear engineering department head, a nuclear engineering faculty member, and the director of the Radiation Science and Engineering Center. In addition, the board includes the following ex-officio members representing other Penn State organizations, who are serving on the PSNES Board for one year concurrent with their term in the outside student club or alumni organization.

  • Penn State American Nuclear Society Student President
  • Penn State Alpha Nu Sigma Student President
  • Penn State Women in Nuclear Student President
  • Penn State Institute of Nuclear Materials Management Student President
  • Penn State Engineering Alumni Society President

To become a board member, contact the PSNES president for more information. The board meets by teleconference approximately quarterly and holds at least one on-site meeting per year at Penn State.

Current Board of Directors – Alumni Members
Position Name/Email Committee(s)
President Hilary Ruby (Neal)
Board Operations, Nominating Committee, PSNES–PSEAS Liaison, Mentor, NucE Student Orientation
Vice President/ President-Elect Jason Beebe
Board Operations, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor
Secretary/Treasurer Tyler Cousins
Board Operations, PSNES Linked-In Group Administrator, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor
Past President Douglas Wood
Board Meeting Participation, Constitution Committee
At-large Directors John Atchison
Awards Committee, Mentor
Jeremy Barnhart
Board Meeting Participation
Jennifer Butler
Board Meeting Participation
Matt Ellis
Board Meeting Participation
Duane Karchner
NucE Student Orientation, Mentor
Mara Levy
Board Meeting Participation
Michael Pantano
Board Meeting Participation
Jim Tusar
Award Committee, Breazeale Reactor Safeguards Committee, NucE Student Orientation, Mentor, PSNES-PSU WIN Liaison
Matt Wargon
Board Meeting Participation, Awards Committee


In accordance with the PSNES Constitution, officers (president, vice-president, and secretary/treasurer) are elected every two years for a two-year term. At-large directors are elected for four-year staggered terms, with half elected every two years.

The following current elected at-large directors remain on the Board through 2020:

  • Jeremy Barnhart
  • Matthew Ellis
  • James Tusar
  • Matt Wargon

The following elected at-large directors remain on the Board through 2022:

  • John Atchison
  • Jennifer Butler
  • Duane Karchner
  • Mara Levy
  • Michael Pantano


The Ken and Mary Alice Lindquist Department of Nuclear Engineering at Penn State is one of the top ranked nuclear engineering programs in the United States. The department distinguishes itself from other programs with a strong focus on experimental research in power, science, security and safety. The actively growing department leads four educational programs for students pursuing a bachelor of science, a master of science, a master of engineering or a doctoral degree. The department also houses the Breazeale Nuclear Reactor, the country’s first and longest operating licensed nuclear reactor. The construction and operation of the reactor introduced nuclear engineering to Penn State, and, in doing so, harnessed research and educational opportunities as key strengths for the department. See how we’re inspiring change and impacting tomorrow at

Department of Nuclear Engineering

205 Hallowell Building

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802-4400

Phone: 814-863-6938