# PENN STATE NUCLEAR ENGINEERING SOCIETY

## MEETING MINUTES – May 25, 2017 – PSNES Teleconference

#### Participants:

## **PSNES Officers & Directors**

Doug Wood – At-Large Director and acting meeting chair with proxy for Secretary/Treasurer Hilary Neal Arthur Motta – Program Chair NucE (with vote) Rick Etling – Immediate Past President Michael Pantano – At-Large Director with proxy for At-Large Director Matt Ellis John Atchison – At-Large Director Duane Karchner – At-Large Director

#### **Other PSNES Members**

None

#### **Other Attendees**

None

## **OPENING**

Arthur Motta opened the meeting explaining that he had requested this meeting be held for continuity due to the resignation of the PSNES President, Catherine Perego. Doug Wood called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm. A roll call was conducted. Including the 2 proxy votes assigned by absent Board members and 6 voting Board members on the call, a quorum (8 as defined in the PSNES Constitution) was confirmed for conducting official PSNES business. Because the Secretary/Treasurer was not present, Doug Wood agreed to take notes and prepare the draft meeting minutes.

# **OLD BUSINESS**

#### Appointments to Fill Officer Vacancies – Appointment of Interim President

The offices of President and Vice President/President-Elect were reported to be vacant due to the resignation of the PSNES President and the VP/President-Elect not having a running candidate at the past election. Hilary Neal is currently the elected Secretary/Treasurer and is still available to complete her term. It was decided that filling the Presidency was an immediate priority, and that filling the VP/President-Elect office could be done at a later time by the new President.

Doug Wood offered to be the PSNES Interim President until new officers were installed after the 2018 elections. After a brief discussion, a motion was made and seconded that Doug Wood serve as Interim President until replaced by the President elected in the 2018 elections. The motion passed.

# **Reiteration of PSNES Officers and Board of Directors (BOD)**

The composition of the entire PSNES BOD following the Presidential appointment is as follows:

- President Doug Wood
- Vice President/President-Elect vacant
- Secretary/Treasurer Hilary Neal
- At-Large Director John Atchison
- At-Large Director Eric Beaument
- At-Large Director Matt Ellis
- At-Large Director Duane Karchner
- At-Large Director vacant (vacated by Hilary Neal when elected as Secy/Treas)
- At-Large Director Michael Pantano
- At-Large Director Jim Tusar
- At-Large Director Matt Wargon
- At-Large Director vacant (vacated by Doug Wood when appointed President)
- Chair of Nuclear Engineering Program Arthur Motta (ex-officio w/ vote)
- Director, Radiation Science & Engineering Center Kenan Unlu (ex-officio w/ vote)
- A Current NucE Faculty Member vacant
- PSNES Immediate Past President Rick Etling
- President of PSEAS or designee Dale Hoffman (ex-officio w/o vote)
- ANS Student Section President Jeremy Barnhart (ex-officio w/o vote)

# Broader Representation of Alumni

Arthur Motta expressed his opinion that he would like to see a broader representation of alumni in the Board of Directors and as participants in PSNES activities. He challenged the Board to take this on as a priority, and offered his assistance in attracting additional alumni.

# **PSNES Awards - Status**

PSNES has established two committees, one for each of the following PSNES annual awards:

- Beecher-Loftus Leadership & Service Award in Nuclear Engineering
- PSNES Outstanding Early Career Award

The award committee for the Beecher-Loftus award is currently chaired by Jim Tusar, and other members of the committee include Michael Pantano, Matt Ellis, and John Atchison. The award is now fully endowed by Pat Loftus. There is an established nomination form and award criteria for this award, and it has been presented to an awardee several times now.

The award committee for the PSNES Outstanding Early Career Award is currently chaired by Matt Wargon, and other members of the committee include Michael Pantano, Matt Ellis, and John Atchison. Doug Wood expressed interest in joining this committee. This new award has only been awarded once (at the March 2017 MNE Senior Recognition Banquet) and the nomination form and selection criteria used this past year were based on a similar PSMES award. Arthur Motta said the process for this award could benefit from being better codified in future years.

# Next PSNES Meeting

The next PSNES meeting will be its Annual Meeting, and will be held in conjunction with the Fall 2017 MNE new student orientation as was done in August 2016. Arthur said the meeting will be held on the day before Fall semester classes start; this year it will be held on Sunday, August 20, 2017. PSNES leadership will need to closely coordinate its meeting with the other MNE activities planned for that day.

# Joint Nuclear Engineering Program Reception at the 2017 ANS Winter Meeting in Washington DC

The ANS holds its national winter meeting in Washington DC (October or November) every other year. 2017 is such a year. Arthur indicated that the Big10/Midwest universities that historically have held this reception have informally decided to again hold this reception. The co-sponsoring programs have typically shared the cost. Final details are typically arranged by Ron Gilgenbach, the University of Michigan Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Safety Department Chair. PSNES plans to publicize this reception, and may or may not provide financial support. It is not known whether PSEAS Grant funding can be used to support PSNES activities at this reception.

#### **PSEAS Grant Status**

PSNES decided to request an extension of the Fall 2016 PSEAS Grant. The request is due to PSEAS by June 1, 2017. Doug Wood to ask Hilary Neal to complete this action.

## <u>Adjourn</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 3 pm.